Skip to main content

Manage suppressed contacts and domains

Learn how to view, filter, and manage suppressed contacts and domains in Dotdigital Marketing.

Written by Laura Russell

The Suppressions area allows you to manage contacts and domains that are prevented from receiving marketing communications. Use it to view suppressions, filter results, resubscribe eligible contacts, and manage domain-level suppressions.


Before you start

  • Depending on the suppression type, a contact can either be resubscribed immediately or asked to confirm their consent. When a contact is resubscribed immediately, no resubscription confirmation email is sent and the contact is added back to your Contacts master list.

  • Contacts suppressed on all available channels don't count towards your contact allowance.


View suppressed contacts

To view suppressed contacts:

  1. Go to Audience > Suppressions.
    The default view of the suppressed contacts list displays contacts who are suppressed on all available channels: your contact-level suppressions.

  2. You can search for both contact-level suppressions and contacts who are suppressed on only a single channel.

    From this page, you can:

    • Add contacts to the suppression list

    • Filter results

    • Change the date range

    • Edit visible fields

    • Resubscribe eligible contacts

Add contacts to the suppression list

To add a contact or contacts to the suppression list, expand the Suppress drop-down menu in the top left.

Edit the date range

Use the date range filter to display only contacts suppressed during a specific period.

To do this:

  1. On the Suppressed contacts list, select Date range.

  2. In the Date options side panel, select the radio button for Pre-defined date range, or Custom date range.

  3. For Pre-defined date range, expand the Date range drop-down menu and select the range you want from the list.

  4. For Custom date range, enter a Start date and End date. To do this, either type a date into the field, or select the calendar icon, then select the date.

  5. Select Apply.

Filter the suppressed contact list

The default view of the Suppressed contacts list shows contacts who are suppressed on all available channels (contact-level suppressions).

For these contacts, the Date removed field shows when they were removed from lists and segments.

Contacts suppressed on only a single channel remain in lists and segments, so no Date removed value is displayed.

Use Filter to display contacts suppressed on a specific channel or with a specific suppression reason.

To do this:

  1. On the Suppressed contacts list, select Filter.

  2. Use the radio buttons to choose from:

    • Suppressed contacts: all contact-level suppressions.

    • Contacts with a suppressed email address

    • Contacts with a suppressed mobile number

  3. Optionally, for either Contacts with a suppressed email address or Contacts with a suppressed mobile number, expand the Show all suppression types drop-down menu and select the suppression type you want to display.

  4. Select Apply.

Edit the visible data fields

You can choose which fields are displayed on the suppressed contacts list. This choice also applies to exports of the suppression list.

To do this:

  1. On the Suppressed contacts list, select Display.

  2. If you want to change the sort order of the list, expand the Sort by drop-down menu and choose from Date removed (desc) or Date removed (asc).

  3. Select the checkbox for any field you want to display.

  4. Clear the checkbox to remove a field from the list.

  5. Select Apply.


Resubscribe contacts

You can resubscribe a contact directly from the suppressed contacts list. Depending on the channel and suppression type, the contact or channel is either immediately added back to your account, or a message is sent to the contact asking them to confirm their consent to be resubscribed. In some cases, you are unable to resubscribe a contact directly from the suppression list.

To do this:

  1. On the Suppressed contacts list, select the checkbox to the right of the contacts you want to resubscribe.

  2. Expand the More actions drop-down menu and select Resubscribe.

  3. On the Resubscribe contacts screen, you see details of the possible resubscribe actions you can take.

  4. Toggle Resubscribe to email and Resubscribe to SMS to Yes or No to confirm the actions you want to take. You can see how many contacts can be resubscribed on each channel, as well as the resubscription action required for each channel.

  5. Once you’ve chosen the channels you want to resubscribe, select Resubscribe.

  6. You see a confirmation message of your chosen actions.

  7. Select Resubscribe contacts.

  8. Review the Resubscribe report.

  9. Select Okay.


Suppressed domains

The Suppressed domains tab displays a list of all email domains that have been suppressed. When you suppress a domain, all email addresses from that domain are automatically suppressed. This saves time when a company asks to be removed as a whole from your lists.

To add a new domain to this list:

  1. Select New domain suppression.

  2. Enter the domains you want to suppress into the text field. Enter each domain on a separate line.

  3. An account can have up to 1000 suppressed domains.

  4. Select Suppress domains.


Reverse a domain suppression

To reverse the domain suppression, select the Undo icon next to the relevant domain on the Suppressed domains tab, then select Undo suppression.

Removing a domain suppression doesn't automatically resubscribe any email addresses associated with that domain.

You can add contacts back by contacting Support or by using the Resubscribe contact with no challenge API call.

Did this answer your question?