Skip to main content

Understand contact and channel suppressions

Understand how contact, channel, list, and domain suppressions work in Dotdigital Marketing, and how they affect your ability to market to contacts.

Written by Laura Russell

A contact can have an email address, mobile number, or both. These methods of communication are called channels.

When a contact is suppressed, they can no longer be contacted through the suppressed channel until the suppression is removed. Depending on the suppression type, a suppression can apply to a single channel, all channels stored for a contact, a specific list, or an entire email domain.

This article explains how suppressions work and how they affect contacts, lists, segments, and marketing sends.


Channel suppressions vs contact suppressions

  • Channel-level suppresion
    A contact is suppressed on one channel while remaining subscribed on another.

  • Contact-level suppression
    A contact is suppressed across all channels that you hold data for.

Contacts who are only suppressed on one channel, while remaining subscribed on the other, are not removed from your lists, and can appear in segments. This allows you to still communicate with them on their subscribed channel. The contact is also added to the suppressed contacts list.

Let’s look at some example contact statuses:

Contact

Email address

Mobile number

Overall status

Contact A

Subscribed ✔️

Subscribed ✔️

  • Subscribed on all channels

  • Present in lists and segments - can be marketed to on both channels

  • Not present on the suppression list

Contact B

Subscribed ✔️

Suppressed ❌

  • Subscribed on one channel, suppressed on one channel

  • Present in lists and segments, but can only be marketed to on the subscribed channel

  • Present on the suppression list

Contact C

Suppressed ❌

Subscribed ✔️

  • Subscribed on one channel, suppressed on one channel

  • Present in lists and segments, but can only be marketed to on the subscribed channel

  • Present on the suppression list

Contact D

Suppressed ❌

Suppressed ❌

  • Suppressed on all channels

  • Not present in lists or segments

  • Present on the suppression list

Contact E

Not stored ➖

Suppressed ❌

  • Suppressed on all available channels

  • Not present in lists or segments

  • Present on the suppression list

Contact F

Subscribed ✔️

Not stored ➖

  • Subscribed on all available channels

  • Present in lists and segments

  • Not present on the suppression list

List-level suppressions

You can upload contacts for suppression from a specific list only. This allows you to exclude contacts from that list without suppressing them across your entire account.

Contacts suppressed at a list level are excluded only from sends to that list and can still receive campaigns sent to other lists.

Contacts suppressed at a list level are not added to the Suppressed contacts list.

Suppressed contacts

The Suppressed contacts list stores contacts who are suppressed on at least one channel.

Contacts who are suppressed on all available channels are removed from lists and segments. Contacts who are suppressed on only one channel remain available for marketing on any subscribed channels.

You can manually add contacts to the suppression list if required.

Additional tabs

Suppressed domains

This tab displays any email domains that you have suppressed at an account level. For example, if you have suppressed example-mail.com, then no @example-mail.com email addresses can be added to your account.

Suppression history

This tab displays manually imported file suppressions created in the last 30 days. Select Date range in the top right to alter the date range displayed.

Reversing suppressions

You can delete a suppression import file from the Suppression history tab within 24 hours of the original suppression import. This removes the contacts included in the file from the suppression list, and they can be reimported back into your account.

Pending contacts

This tab displays contacts who have been sent a verified double opt-in email but are yet to complete the double opt-in process. After contacts confirm their opt in, their email address is added to your lists and they are removed from Pending contacts.

Did this answer your question?